Prasannadeb Women's College

The department of physics was established in the year 1972 and honours course in the department was introduced in the year 1995. At present, the department has three permanent faculty members and three guest faculties. The intake capacity of students in Honours is 24. In addition, a good number of students study Physics as a General paper in their B. Sc. course. The department is well equipped with laboratories both for Honours and General courses. The basic facilities for theoretical research work are available in the department. The current faculty members are involved in various research activities which include national and international collaborations.


Dr. Jagabandhu Mandal     Dr. Ranjan Sharma     Dr. Shyam Das

Special Events and Activities:

In addition to regular academic activities the students of our department celebrate Teacher’s day, organize Biswakarma Puja etc. Faculty members of the department also present motivational speeches and discuss carrier opportunities during such occasions. Moreover, seminar talks on specific topics are arranged in the department on a regular basis. In 2015, Prof. Kanak Saha, an eminent cosmologist from the Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics(IUCAA), Pune delivered a special talk in the department and interacted with the students.