Department of Physics


The department of physics was established in the year 1972 and honours course in the department was introduced in the year 1995. At present, the department has three permanent faculty members and three guest faculties. The intake capacity of students in Honours is 24. In addition, a good number of students study Physics as a General paper in their B. Sc. course. The department is well equipped with laboratories both for Honours and General courses. The basic facilities for theoretical research work are available in the department. The current faculty members are involved in various research activities which include national and international collaborations.


Dr. Jagabandhu Mandal, M. Sc., PhD
Associate Professor in Physics
Date of joining: 19 August 1997
Formerly at: Mathabhanga College, Cooch Bihar, West Bengal, India
Specialization: Solid State Physics
Area of Interest: Experimental Condensed Matter Physics

Dr. Ranjan Sharma, M. Sc., PhD
Associate Professor in Physics
Date of joining: 01 July 2002
Formerly at: (i) St. Joseph’s College, Darjeeling, West Bengal India; (ii) School of Physics, University of KwaZulu-Natal (Pietermaritzburg Campus), South Africa
Specialization: Relativity and Relativistic Astrophysics; Electronics
Area of Interest: Dr. Sharma’s research interests are focused on a number of areas in relativistic astrophysics and cosmology. Currently, he is interested in studying stellar physics in the high density regime; theoretical issues relating to gravitational collapse; modified theories of gravity; exact solutions and physical interpretations; amongst many other contemporary issues.


Mr. Shyam Das, M. Sc.
Assistant Professor in Physics
Date of joining: 16 December 2006
Specialization: Atomic and Molecular Physics
Area of Interest: General Theory of Relativity. Special interest in theoretical aspects of gravitational collapse, exact solutions of Einstein field equations.

Special Events and Activities

In addition to regular academic activities the students of our department celebrate Teacher’s day, organize Biswakarma Puja etc. Faculty members of the department also present motivational speeches and discuss carrier opportunities during such occasions. Moreover, seminar talks on specific topics are arranged in the department on a regular basis. In 2015, Prof. Kanak Saha, an eminent cosmologist from the Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics(IUCAA), Pune delivered a special talk in the department and interacted with the students.